2010’s Round Up

By December 14, 2010 Congratulations

Julian Shaw was honoured as Best Young Australian Filmmaker of the Year Award at the Byron Bay International Film Festival. His film ‘Clearing the Air’ was also licensed to QANTAS In-Flight Entertainment. The film was assisted by Metro Screen support facilities.

‘Where the Streets have No Name’ by Vijaykumar Mirchandani. Feature documentary supported through our production subsidy Jump Start. Received won six awards, nine international screenings including a short listed nomination for the IF award for EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent and an Honorable Mention in the Los Angeles Movie Awards 2010.

Craig Boreham Metro Screen staff member was nominated for an IF award for EFilm IF Award for Rising Talent

‘Holding Hands’ produced by Katherine Wilkinson and co-directed by Tonnette Stanford and Katherine Wilkinson. Documentary supported through our production subsidy Network Pitch competition. Received one award and 10 screenings both here and internationally.

Ali Russell’s work with ‘Hungry Beast’ on ABC saw her nominated for a Walkley Award. Ali is a Metro Screen Certificate IV in Screen and Media graduate.

Steven Crombie’s book was published ‘Lost On Earth’. Steven is a Metro Screen Certificate IV in Screen and media graduate.

James Hunter’s first feature went into pre-production ‘One Of Us.’ James is a Metro Screen Certificate IV in Screen and Media graduate.

Roy Weiland Metro Screen Transmedia Incubator graduate won the chance to pitch his transmedia project ‘Barton The Ghost Catcher’ to SPAA Fringe and SPAA. The short film funded through Metro Screen’s film funding and support was also screened at Flickerfest.

‘The Caretaker’ by Alanna Rose was accepted into the International Black Film Festival of Nashville. The film was supported through Metro Screen’s Indigenous film funding and support.

‘Mogadishu Dreaming’ made by Lesley Branagan and funded through our scholarship and funding and support program screened in three international festivals including Sheffield International Documentary and Vancouver International Film Festival.

Three Multiplatform Screen Producer Scholarship students, Claire Evans, Anna Bay and James Boyce headed to MIPCOM 2010 in Cannes to take their in-class multiplatform concept to market and received a GREAT response.

Sandra Pires Multiplatform Screen Producer Scholarship student’s work ‘Beneath Black Skies’ won a National Trust Heritage Award was broadcast and had a parliamentary screening.

‘Happenstance’ by Clarke Richards finalist in Tropfest picking up two awards.

‘2OF ME’ was a finalist in TropJr. This film was produced through our Young Filmmakers program.

‘Dare I Ask?’ the weekly TV show produced by Metro Screen and UWS won Program of the Year and Outstanding Factual, Current Affairs or Interview Program and Outstanding Female Presenter for co-host Tilly Boleyn.

Metro Screen producing student Daniel Prypchan won the Audience Choice Award at the Sandfly Film Festival for his short film ‘Germany’. The film also screened in two national festivals.

Metro Screen Patron Lester Bostock was awarded Elder of the Year at the 2010 National NAIDOC Awards.

Tim Wilde Metro Screen Multiplatform screenwriting tutor won Writers Guild Awards for: Interactive Media award for ‘Primeval Evolved’ – Anthony Mullins and Timothy Wilde and 2010 John Hinde Award for Science Fiction for ‘Primeval Evolved’ – Anthony Mullins and Timothy Wilde

Metro Screen Board member Liz Watts produced the Sundance and AFI award winning ‘Animal Kingdom’, was named in the top 50 power list for film, tv and TVC production by Encore, won the Churchill Fellowship and won a SPAA Independent Producer Award.

Metro Screen President Marcus Gillezeau won a SPAA Independent Producer Award.

Long time Metro Screen tutor Dean Francis’s first feature ‘ROAD TRAIN’ was released.