ACMI announces ‘Screen It’ 2014 Winners

By November 24, 2014 Congratulations
Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 1.21.25 PM

The Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) is delighted to announce the winners of 2014 ‘Screen It’  – Australia’s largest annual competition discovering the most creative and skilful school-aged filmmakers, animators and game makers

Now in its tenth year, Screen It attracted 365 entries involving 1,546 students from across Australia creating live-action films, computer games and animations in response to the theme, Reflection.

ACMI Screen Education Manager, Christine Evely was again impressed by the creativity of this years students, describing the ideas and imaginative entries  as “remarkable”

Judged by a panel of industry professionals including Trollbridge director Daniel Knight, animator Rebecca Hayes, Melbourne International Animation Film Festival director Malcolm Turner, writer-director Russell Fletcher, and industry representatives from the Australian Children’s Television Foundation, Victorian College of the Arts and Federation Square.

Winners will receive a certificate, a trophy and a DVD prize pack courtesy of Madman Entertainment. In addition, winning entries will be added to the Australian Mediatheque where ACMI visitors can view moving image works on demand. They will also be exhibited in ACMI’s Screen Worlds exhibition alongside some of the greatest filmmakers and game developers of all time, on ACMI’s Generator education portal and on the ACMI website.

Screen It is designed to provide rich cross-disciplinary curriculum outcomes for participants. As teachers start thinking of next year’s competition, they are encouraged to use the resources devised by ACMI’s experienced educators to assist with developing the theme to help students to gain knowledge and skills around production processes. Teachers can register their class for online Screen It Video Conferences with ACMI Education staff, and can also utilise Generator, ACMI’s online creative tool to support the production process.

The following winners will be presented at the annual Screen It Awards held at ACMI in Melbourne on Friday 5 December:
Primary Animation Winner
Ignatius Quince – The Cautionary Tale of a Child Genius Table Cape Primary School (Wynyard, TAS)
Special Mention: Maristely’s Story Holy Family Primary School (Indooroopilly, QLD)

Primary Live Action Winner
The Devoted Friend Doreen Primary School (Doreen, VIC)
Special Mention: Don’t Change Me! St Brigid’s Primary School (Gisborne, VIC)

Primary Game Winner
Sky’s Adventure Hurstbridge Primary School (Hurstbridge, VIC)

Secondary Animation Winner
La Mia Vita Sarah Brennan (Adelaide Lead, VIC)

Secondary Live Action Winner
Transition Presbyterian Ladies College (Peppermint Grove, WA)
Special Mention: 14 Billion Faces Lily Drummond (Marino, SA)

Secondary Game Winner
Project Vena Cava Matthew Wong (Forde, ACT)
Special Mention: Façade Nunawading Christian College (Pakenham, VIC)

Best Overall Schools Entry – Primary
Time Machine Tea Tree Gully Primary School (Tea Tree Gully, SA)

Best Overall Schools Entry – Secondary
100 Pages North Sydney Girls High School (Crows Nest, NSW)
For more information on Screen It, visit: