AWG Opens Search for 2014 FOXTEL Fellowship Recipient

By July 31, 2014 Entries

AWG Opens Search for 2014 FOXTEL Fellowship Recipient $25,000 to be Awarded to Top Screenwriter. The Australian Writers’ Guild (AWG) is calling for nominations for the prestigious FOXTEL Fellowship, rewarding excellence and outstanding achievement with creative freedom.

The $25,000 prize is awarded to a screenwriter who has a body of work that is impressive in its craft, scope and impact and their demonstrated excellence in screenwriting, particularly in the field of television.  The Fellowship provides the chosen writer with the creative freedom to develop a television project of their choosing and is made possible through the generous sponsorship of FOXTEL.

Now in its eighth year the Fellowship has recognised some of Australia’s top screenwriters.  The 2013 FOXTEL Fellow is Jacquelin Perske (Deadline Gallipoli (filming), SpiritedLove My Way).  In previous years recipients have included Kristen Dunphy (Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries, The Straits, East West 101), Kris Mrksa (Janet King, The Turning, Time of My Lives), Sue Smith (Mabo, R.A.N Remote Area Nurse, Brides of Christ), Christopher Lee (Paper Giants, Rush, Love My Way), John Alsop (My Brother Jack, Leaving of Liverpool, Flying Doctors) and Mac Gudgeon (Killing Time, Last Ride, The Delinquents).

FOXTEL and the AWG partner on a number of projects designed to recognise television’s important contribution to the country’s cultural landscape and the screenwriters who shape that contribution through their exceptional work.

Other FOXTEL/AWG projects are the annual FOXTEL Screenwriter’s Address, which was delivered last year by Leah Purcell, and the FOXTEL Oral History project, a series of interviews with significant writers who have built and shaped the screen industry.

The Fellow will be announced at the 47th Annual AWGIE Awards to be held in Sydney on Friday 5 September 2014. Screenwriters may nominate themselves to be considered for the Fellowship, however the AWG also encourages third party nominations.

Nominations for the 2014 FOXTEL Fellowship close 9am Monday 11 August 2014.  To apply, please submit the 2014 FOXTEL Fellowship Nomination Form.