Sydney Film Festival Explores Gourmet Cinema

By April 21, 2015 Events

Sydney Film Festival’s Gourmet Cinema events bring together fine foodie films paired with exquisite dining from three of Sydney’s finest restaurants. Matched wines from Eden Road Wines and beers from Little Creatures will complement each dining experience. This ever-popular program, now in its fourth year, creates an entire evening’s entertainment that will stimulate and satisfy all the senses.

Tuesday 9 June is the Australian premiere of Sergio Herman: FUCKING PERFECT, a gripping behind-the-scenes portrait of the superstar Dutch chef; followed by a four-course meal at The Bridge Room prepared by Sydney’s 2014 Chef of the Year, Ross Lusted. Both chefs strive for culinary perfection in a never-ending quest for the new, cutting edge and unexpected.

Wednesday 10 June is the Australian premiere of Foodies, a delightful documentary about the obsessive world of the highest echelon of food bloggers. The film’s stunning photography and artful plating will be followed by a feast for every sense, as one of Sydney’s greatest artisans of Japanese food, Azuma, presents a three-course meal at his iconic restaurant.

The third pairing in the program, on Thursday 10 June, is a Peruvian short foodie film followed by another Australian premiere: Good Things Awaita fascinating insight into biodynamic farming in Denmark. This feature-documentary follows an eccentric organic farmer and supplier to NOMA (one of the world’s best restaurants) and his battles with the Danish authorities. Afterwards, The Governor’s Table will serve a five-course menu influenced by contemporary Danish restaurants, using quality local ingredients.

The communal seating at all three of the Gourmet Cinema dinners will encourage shared conversations and experiences of the films and food presented. Secure your places at the table here. If you can’t make the dinner, you can still book film only tickets below.

For more information and tickets visit:

The full Sydney Film Festival program will be announced on Wednesday 6 May at 11am.